To Do Tuesday: Try Making a Balloon Animal

A dog with an attempt at a poodle tail

A dog with an attempt at a poodle tail

Welcome to To Do Tuesday where I tell you about something I have recently crossed off my “To Do” List.

To Do: Try Making a Balloon Animal

I’m not sure why, but balloon animals have always fascinated me, and I’ve always wanted to be able to make them. So I finally decided to give it a try, and honestly, it isn’t as hard as I thought it might be! Plus it is super fun! Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m only doing super simple 1 balloon animals and I can only make 3:

  • A ridiculously simple fish
  • A swan
  • A dog

I did try a giraffe and it turned out ok, but I’m not sure I’d claim that I can make one yet. I have seen a video of a guy making an AMAZING balloon penguin with about 6 balloons and boggles my mind. I’m not sure I have the time or energy to become that good. Perhaps it can be on my To Do List for when I retire. 🙂 I’m guessing balloon animals will never completely go out of fashion. Well, not at my house anyway!

So what I did to get started was skip all the kits with the instruction books. For something like this, I need to be hands on and see a visual demonstration to actually learn it.  So thanks to the internet, I hopped on Youtube and started checking out some videos. Everyone seemed to recommend the Qualatex balloons. Some people were in favor of a hand held pump and others were not in favor of it. I opted for the pump and I was glad I did!

Swan

Swan

Anyway, I’m just getting started and with time constraints I probably won’t learn how to make a lot of them…yet. However, I’m just happy I’ve given it a try and I could make some recognizable animals. Plus now I know I do really like it and maybe someday I can make a couple kids smile with my new found hobby.

Is there something you have always wanted to try? Are you under the age of 60 with a To Do List for retirement? If you are, I would LOVE to know what is on your list. Mine is only in my mind….so far, but it probably wouldn’t be a shock to anyone if I actually started one on paper.

One thought on “To Do Tuesday: Try Making a Balloon Animal

Leave a Reply

