To Do Tuesday Pumpkin Bread Whoops!

Welcome to To Do Tuesday where I tell you about something I have recently crossed off my “To Do” List.

To Do: Pumpkin Bread

Bread for the Bake Sale

Bread for the Bake Sale

Ever have one of those days where you think you are going to get something done, but you make a mistake and it turns into a huge project? Well, that just happened to me. I was making a BIG batch of pumpkin bread (9 loaves) some for us and a couple for a bake sale. Long story short, one of the kiddos was talking to me and not thinking, I grabbed a tablespoon for baking powder instead of a teaspoon. As you probably know, that is 3 times the baking powder I needed. Another kiddo was already helping stir so it was already too late to scoop any out!

Decision time: Change it to an enormous batch (27 loaves worth) or toss it, wasting the ingredients.

1010152055

Adding the 30 plus cups of flour!

After much anxiety and stressing. I sent my wonderful husband out to the store for 2 dozen more eggs, pumpkin pie spice, and 10 pounds of sugar. Crazy! I used every big bowl I have, and the next day I spent a lot of time back and forth to the oven. Now I have more than enough pumpkin bread for the rest of the winter, and the bake sale will get six loaves instead of two or three. I feel good that I didnt waste the ingredients. The day I baked we had some company drop in and I was able to send some away with them too.

1011151439

So my simple To Do, turned into an enormous one. My husband tells me we will laugh about it for years. It is rather funny. 🙂 However, something tells me I may not feel like making pumpkin bread again for a while…..good thing I have so much in the freezer 😉

Bread for the Bake Sale

Bread for the Bake Sale

I can cross making pumpkin bread off my To Do List for sure now!

Leave a Reply

